Christian Mantra Prayers

Whether we know it or not, we all have mantras, things we repeat over and over to ourselves.  Sometimes these are positive, sometimes they are negative, but regardless of what they are, we all have them and they powerfully shape who we are, our lives, and how we see the world.

Though they may refer to it differently, almost every major faith tradition in the world uses mantras in a pursuit of spiritual transformation.  For Christians, this means repeating Biblical images, words, or phrases over and over again that help spiritually transform us to being more like Jesus Christ.  These can be repeated over and over again during a specific time of prayer, or as you are going though your day.  Choose a specific mantra and try repeating it every time you exhale, or write it in a place where you will see it a lot and repeat it over and over again every time you see it.  Manta prayers are a great way to continue your spiritual practices throughout your day.

Below are some common Christian mantras.  If you have a practice of reading the Bible in the mornings, feel free to choose your mantra or build your list from words, phrases, or images that stick out to you from your reading.

Jesus
Love
Joy
Peace
Kindness
Hope
Mercy
Take up your cross
Be still
Peace be with you
Follow Jesus
I am with you always
All is well, all will be well
Open my eyes God
Jesus is Lord
Help me Jesus
I am loved
God loves Me
God loves them
Come, Lord Jesus
Peace be with you

3 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Life, Prayer, Religion, Spiritual, Spirituality

3 responses to “Christian Mantra Prayers

  1. I am grateful for this post. I am Christian and find great help in eastern practices as I undertake my own transformation journey. I was led to these practices by the Holy Ghost and I am troubled that when I find that others on a similar journey, that they have rejected Christianity almost on principle. It’s as if you can’t take these “eastern practices” and use them in your spiritual practice and also be a Christian…as if they are mutually exclusive.

    Thanks for the suggestions, I’ll be drawing from them in the future.

  2. David Gaddis

    I enjoy your blog and should have commented before on the ones I like vs being critical in my first public comment.. The last two regarding mantras and centering prayers do leave an uneasy feeling.

    In the examples that I read in both the old and new testament of prayer I do not think I see anything that resembles this practice.being condoned for my prayer life. Depending on which English version of the bible you read it may actually have been discouraged. (Matthew 6:7 KJV). And from the old testament, as I read the story, Elisha mocked those types of prayers.

    Yes, we should seek God in all things including holding my attention during prayer, but giving power to key words vs trusting the creator seems a little misplaced..

    Your Uncle and Brother in Christ
    David

  3. This is a very good comment and something I shouldn’t have overlooked addressing. I’ll address the broader question more thoughtfully in the morning. For now, I’ll just give my take on the two scriptures you mentioned. In both of these cases I believe what is being ridiculed in the Old Testament example and condemned in the New Testament example is the attempt on people’s part to use prayer (or an aberration of prayer) to manipulate or even force their god into doing what they want, to make their god hear and listen to them.

    What these last several blogs have been about is just the opposite of these things – practices that help people listen to God better. Even though I used the word “mantra” these concepts and practices are some of the oldest practices in Christianity – but I’ll get into that tomorrow. It’s good stuff!

    Thank you David!

Leave a Reply

